Close this search box.

The Body’s Energy System

Ever wonder how our emotions, consciousness and physiological body systems connect? The answer is in the chakras, or the center of energy that lives in every physical being. The Chakra system is made up of energy centers focused within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. These energy centers originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC in a sanskrit text called the Vedas, a collection of knowledge texts composed in the ancient Indian subcontinent. Chakras are said to posess a vibrational frequency in our bodies that govern specific functions to help you connect to your spiritual and physical well-being.

In today’s society, and more recently in western culture, yoga teachers and spiritual leaders use the knowledge of chakras and specific energy centers to harness energy and awaken your body and mind in meditation and in treating emotional and physical ailments. In eastern cultures, many people find a spiritual presence from internalizing the energy of different deities through various chakras (more than just the seven that western society recognizes), but here we embrace the seven chakra system – muladhara, svadhisthana, manipura, anahata, vishuddha, ajna and sahaswara, each representing a different part of the body, all connected from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

Muladhara – Root Chakra

This energy field is located at the base of the spine. The root chakra symbolizes our foundation and is important for ‘grounding‘, otherwise known as earthing.

Svadhistana – Sacral Chakra

Located just below the navel in the area of reproductive organs, this energy field symbolizes the energy for creative expression and is our sexual center.

Manipura – Solar Plexus

The solar plexus is located in the upper abdominal area, this energy field acts as our source of personal power, confidence and self- esteem.

Anahata – Heart Chakra

The center of the seven chakras, unites the lower chakras of matter to the upper chakras of spirit. This field is the bridge between our ‘body, mind, emotions and spirit’.

Vishuddha – Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra includes the neck, jaw, mouth and tongue. This energy field represents to our ability to communicate, both verbally and through self-expression.

Anja – Third Eye Chakra

The most talked about chakra, the third eye center, is located between the brows and is said to enable our ability to focus and controls our intuition.

Sahaswara – Crown Chakra

The infinite energy center that allows our spirit to connect to our higher selves through enlightenment, and connects our inner beauty to outer beauty.

The chakra system is the key, some say, to live a healthy life: emotionally, physically and spiritually. If you’ve attended a yoga class, some teachers use poses to open and align chakras. Since mind, body, soul, and spirit are intimately connected, in yoga practice and everyday life, awareness to the imbalance in one area will help bring the others back into balance. ‘When we have a physical issue, it creates weaknesses in our emotional behavior, the same goes for if you have negative emotions, you may experience physical restrictions, too.’ Balancing the chakras is another holistic approach to achieving optimal health and leading a stress-free life.

Join us next week on Wednesday, July 26 at 6:00pm as Christi Clemons Hoffman of Radiate Wellness discusses the chakras and the aura.

$20/participant | Sign up with Katie Swetala.

Get the Latest from Woodside

Stay current with Woodside by subscribing to our email updates.